Archive for November 20, 2010

The little privacy that I can get, I love to have and maintain!

I used to be a huge fan of this sentence, and I used to love repeating it over and over again. However, such “privacy” began to disappear ever since I created a Facebook account, with all my status updates and tons of pictures being shown publicly in my profile! And this “privacy” began to reduce even more when I got a Twitter account, and now….Foursquare!!

what my Foursquare profile looks like!

 For those who are unfamiliar with Foursquare, it is a location-based social network. In other terms, it allows its users to “check in” venues, depending on their location. For example, if you were in Beirut, you might check in to your local coffeeshop, such as starbucks.

I loved it!!!!
I don’t care if others constantly see where I am (although there are ways to control that!). I just love the way I can open up Foursquare and find out where my other friends are without even texting or callig them! (I guess my mom loves it the most-she can always know where I am without having to call me!!)
And Foursquare has this sense of competition within it, where if you check in into a place more than once, you become the mayor of it. ALso, you are awarded certain badges if you unlock certain levels. For example, the “adventurer” badge if you have been to 10 different places!

the badges I've unlocked on Foursquare so far!

 
   Needless to say, I plan on continuing my current activities on Foursquare, and mastering them! There are still alot of things I haven’t figured out yet, but I guess with time I will!

the places I've checked into so far!